Reviews

Michelle Blade Avatar

Excellent, authentic Chicago Steak House experience.Well done.

Michelle Blade 10/13/2021
Ron Ross Avatar

Outstanding steakhouse. Tatertots awesome. Mac and cheese yum!!!

Ron Ross 10/11/2021
Réjane Pierre Avatar

I don’t even know where to begin as this was one of the best experiences I’ve ever had in a Chicago restaurant, and I’ve been living here since 2007! First of all, the hosts up front are friendly and hilarious and even wished us a happy anniversary before we sat down as we mentioned that we were celebrating our one-year in our reservation. Our server Stephanie was phenomenal and very knowledgeable about the menu. My husband had the Chicago cut ribeye and I had the petite filet and we both shared the mashed potatoes and corn off of the cob. We had a wedge salad to start. The food was delicious and the steaks perfectly done. The ambiance was warm and friendly and all the staff were on point. Excellent service all around. They even surprised us with their butter cake dessert with salted caramel ice cream, which was to die for. We will definitely be back and will recommend Rosebud Steakhouse to all of our family and friends. This is a perfect spot for special occasions (or any occasion, really)!!

Réjane Pierre 10/10/2021
Michael S Avatar

Wonderful food. Great service.

Michael S 10/07/2021
Morgan Abercrombie Avatar

Great food and great service!

Morgan Abercrombie 10/07/2021
Collin Bowman Avatar

A quieter, more relaxed atmosphere than some Chicago steakhouses, while retaining the high level of food and service.

Collin Bowman 10/07/2021
Michael F. Avatar

5 star rating What can I say......some places just know what they are doing. Flew in early evening and checked into the Hilton on Delaware. I had work to do so I ordered in and noticed there were no delivery details on my order. So I called and they said it should actually be a pick up. They sounded really busy. When I explained the flyer I ordered from and having to eat in to get some work done they immediately said they would deliver it. I ordered the brick chicken. I know it's a steak house but this chicken was done perfectly.....crispy outside and juicy inside. The asparagus was done perfectly as well. Really outstanding and I appreciated their flexibility. I'd dine in without a doubt.

Michael F. 10/05/2021
Michael F. Avatar

5 star rating What can I say......some places just know what they are doing. Flew in early evening and checked into the Hilton on Delaware. I had work to do so I ordered in and noticed there were no delivery details on my order. So I called and they said it should actually be a pick up. They sounded really busy. When I explained the flyer I ordered from and having to eat in to get some work done they immediately said they would deliver it. I ordered the brick chicken. I know it's a steak house but this chicken was done perfectly.....crispy outside and juicy inside. The asparagus was done perfectly as well. Really outstanding and I appreciated their flexibility. I'd dine in without a doubt.

Michael F. 10/05/2021
Maggie Wu Avatar

Our waiter, VICTOR, was so AMAZING that I’m writing this surgery right after I left. Tonight was my boyfriends birthday and he gave us such excellent service that I would come back to this restaurant just for him. The steak was super good too! Needs to be more waiters like him (: keep doing a good job and making everyone’s day

Maggie Wu 9/30/2021
Rachel Goldberg Avatar

Food and service were excellent! We all loved our steaks (petite filets and NY strip), the mac and cheese, and the brussel sprouts. Very "classic" steakhouse vibe. Definitely recommend a visit

Rachel Goldberg 9/23/2021
Kate V. Avatar

5 star rating All I can say is WOW! While visiting in Chicago our group made a reservation at this restaurant and we're so glad we did! From the moment we were greeted at the front door until our last bite, our group was very pleased. The ambiance, cocktail and wine offerings, perfectly cooked steak and savory desserts were all top notch. My group has even joked about flying to Chicago just to have dinner at this restaurant again! I highly recommend Rosebud steakhouse!

Kate V. 9/16/2021
Kate V. Avatar

5 star rating All I can say is WOW! While visiting in Chicago our group made a reservation at this restaurant and we're so glad we did! From the moment we were greeted at the front door until our last bite, our group was very pleased. The ambiance, cocktail and wine offerings, perfectly cooked steak and savory desserts were all top notch. My group has even joked about flying to Chicago just to have dinner at this restaurant again! I highly recommend Rosebud steakhouse!

Kate V. 9/16/2021
Victor G Avatar

Great food and excellent service every time we dine here. Steaks are the best we've ever had. The butter cake is outstanding!

Victor G 9/14/2021
Curtis S.D. Avatar

Dining experience and food is great. Come hungry the portions are generous.Had wedge salad, salmon piccata and truffle parmesan tater tots, and would suggest them to anyone.

Curtis S.D. 9/14/2021
J G Avatar

My first visit to Chicago and they came highly recommended. All I can say is ok outstanding!!! The service and food was excellent. Definitely a must go!

J G 9/14/2021
Doc S Avatar

Excellent food and service! Highly recommended.

Doc S 9/14/2021
Abraham Ramirez Avatar

Erik Eduardo! The best on serving and nice people there👍🏼********** great food great service in town

Abraham Ramirez 9/14/2021
Edward Lee Avatar

One would be hard pressed to find any better dining experience than is offered here. The food is first rate quality and prepared flawlessly. The courtesy, expertise and warm humor displayed by the staff make the Rosebud a must repeat for any visit to Chicago!

Edward Lee 8/31/2021
Mark Mattimore Avatar

A fantastic experience! My wife and I went there for our anniversary and had a great time. Jay made our meal an event to remember and treated us like one of the family. We will definitely be back.

Mark Mattimore 8/30/2021
Jessica D. Avatar

5 star rating Delicious, and the service is stellar. Being from another city, I wasn't used to the service of Chicago restaurants! The food is amazing, but the service honestly is what sets this place apart. In my short stay, I went there on multiple occasions. The buttercake is a must try, by the way!

Jessica D. 8/28/2021
Jessica D. Avatar

5 star rating Delicious, and the service is stellar. Being from another city, I wasn't used to the service of Chicago restaurants! The food is amazing, but the service honestly is what sets this place apart. In my short stay, I went there on multiple occasions. The buttercake is a must try, by the way!

Jessica D. 8/28/2021
Cindy Leigh-Martin Avatar

My brother and I recently visited Chicago and had a wonderful dinner at Rosebud Steakhouse. Our steaks were cooked to perfection at medium rare and we were glad the server suggested we share the baked potato which he humorously stated was as big as his head. We also shared a bottle of red wine which was delish and enhanced our leisurely dinner. In fact, we were so caught up yakking since we hadn’t seen each other in a few years, we looked around and noticed we were two of the few patrons remaining since it was almost closing time. But, the staff never hurried us and we had a wonderful special dinner.

Cindy Leigh-Martin 8/26/2021
Dee Jay Avatar

Loved it

Dee Jay 8/14/2021
Anthony J. Simmons, MBA Avatar

Great place, service was nice, good was great.

Anthony J. Simmons, MBA 8/14/2021
Adam Smith Avatar

Excellent food and a great and welcoming service. Highly. recommended.

Adam Smith 8/14/2021
Footz Entertainment Avatar

Excellent food! Great vibe, wonderful music and nice classy touch to it! Service is phenomenal! Definitely coming back.!

Footz Entertainment 8/14/2021
Carole Barrett Avatar

Great food and attentive service.

Carole Barrett 8/14/2021
mohamad murad Avatar

Amazing steak , you will leave with happy stomach but of course dizzy as well 😁

mohamad murad 8/14/2021
salvatore tropea Avatar

Food was outstanding and service was great. Definitely a good time and going back again.

salvatore tropea 8/14/2021
Dan Weirauch Avatar

My wife and I wanted to visit here on a birthday weekend trip to Chicago. What an beautiful place, with the BEST food! We have been to so many steakhouses around the U.S., and this was my favorite by far. The waitstaff is like family. Not only do they know everything about their steaks, they are also like family. I ordered the 16 oz New York Strip, and the cauliflower au gratin. The steak was perfect, in every way! Seared to perfection on the exterior, and cooked to most tender medium. We will absolutely be back.

Dan Weirauch 8/14/2021
Lisa Eickert Avatar

Excellent food and service. We will be back.

Lisa Eickert 8/14/2021
Paul Elsdon Avatar

Incredible dinner. Highly recommended.

Paul Elsdon 8/14/2021
Jason Thomas Avatar

Amazing all around! Perfectly cooked to order! You will not regret a visit.

Jason Thomas 8/14/2021
S O S Avatar

The food was amazing & it was right across from our hotel!

S O S 7/14/2021
Jazmine Jones Avatar

Great atmosphere, great customer service and great food!

Jazmine Jones 7/14/2021
Abimael Rivera Avatar

This place is amazing!! Excellent service and superb food taste ! I would love to come here again in my next trip to Chicago

Abimael Rivera 7/14/2021
Erich Pflum Avatar

Old school Chicago great steakhouse though

Erich Pflum 7/14/2021
Liszette Rodriguez Avatar

I have no pictures because everything was too delicious to wait. Everything and everyone was so welcoming and that meant the world

Liszette Rodriguez 7/14/2021
Nate Aiken Avatar

Service was amazing for a great Father's Day and Birthday dinner. Will definitely be back to enjoy more of the dishes. Had the bone-in filet and while I ordered my steak more done than I normally would have, it was still delicious!

Nate Aiken 7/14/2021
Howard Rehs Avatar

Large portions

Howard Rehs 7/14/2021
Troy Egan Avatar

The food and wait-staff were excellent!

Troy Egan 7/14/2021
Oscar Enrique Phelps Avatar

The food is amazing! Great service!!! The servings are very generous be ready for a great meal.

Oscar Enrique Phelps 6/14/2021
Denise Gonzalez Avatar

This was the best dining experience ever. Worth every penny. A must when visiting Chicago. Steaks are superb, sides were terrific & the drinks got us over the bliss finish line!

Denise Gonzalez 6/14/2021
Jackie Brockert Avatar

We were in town for a serious surgery for my daughter when we found the staff .. the food...the home for us in a tough time. Everything and everyone was exceptional. A true Chicago gem!!!

Jackie Brockert 6/14/2021
Belinda Cogbill Avatar

Welcoming atmosphere. Friendly staff. Food absolutely delicious.

Belinda Cogbill 6/14/2021
Gary S. Avatar

5 star rating There are a lot of good steak places in Chicago. This is an amazing steak place, off the beaten path in the Gold Coast. The rub on the filet was AWESOME. The corn chowder with jalapeño was so good and their carrot cake was unique and fantastic. The great food coupled with warm and friendly service makes this a new fav. Owner Angelo is great! This is a must try for foodies. And oh, by the way, the best sidecar we've had...ever.

Gary S. 6/04/2021
Gary S. Avatar

5 star rating There are a lot of good steak places in Chicago. This is an amazing steak place, off the beaten path in the Gold Coast. The rub on the filet was AWESOME. The corn chowder with jalapeño was so good and their carrot cake was unique and fantastic. The great food coupled with warm and friendly service makes this a new fav. Owner Angelo is great! This is a must try for foodies. And oh, by the way, the best sidecar we've had...ever.

Gary S. 6/04/2021
Missy Tenzer Avatar

One of my fav restaurants in the city.

Missy Tenzer 5/14/2021
TraVonn Jones Avatar

45 day wet aged ribeye delmonico... Let that marinade... This place is world class and I'm qualified to make that determination. EVERYTHING about this place is world class. Just go!

TraVonn Jones 5/14/2021
Angela Blanchard Avatar

Delicious food. Extremely well prepared. Thoughtful service. Very nice and comfortable atmosphere.

Angela Blanchard 5/14/2021
Monique Purnell Avatar

The food is amazing! I will be returning again.

Monique Purnell 5/14/2021
Alan Williams Avatar

Our expectations were exceeded during our visit. Our waiter, Victor, made us feel like regulars and old friends. ALL of the food was fantastic and perfectly prepared. We never felt crowded or rushed, having a family dining experience that we had looked forward to for over a year. We will return to the Rosebud every chance we get.

Alan Williams 5/14/2021
Daniel Santiago Avatar

Great food and service. Had the tomahawk steak and it was amazing. They have a great team of servers. Felt like family

Daniel Santiago 5/14/2021
Tim F. Avatar

4 star rating Writing this as it comes. The restaurant was able to take me on a walk up at 6:00. Several groups were here but it's early yet. COVID may have scant benefits but fewer people is one. Nice table at the front. The maitre d asked face in or face out - great question for one person btw - as I'm here solo due to my wife being too site-seeing exhausted to go out, I chose face in. Beautiful room here at Rosebud, plus window looks to the street and the Hilton Hotel service garage door - but the room is lovely. Good choice facing in. Once seated I asked for the wine list. Not good. As a Californian I'm accustomed to good wines and while I don't require a massive selection, I do require some seriously good cabs at minimum for a steak house but it wasn't there so I pivoted into an Italian blend which has proven satisfactory. The bread came in a cute metal holder for two roles - looks and tastes like challah drizzled with olive oil and garlic . Hmmmm...
Ordered the house salad, KC dry aged strip, brussel sprouts and baked potato - dessert is to go back to the room and my resting wife. Call me old fashioned but A guy out alone, has to bring something home... Was told the baked potato would take 45 minutes. Never heard of waiting to bake a potato until ordered but let's give them the benefit of the doubt due to COVID and ordered mashed instead. House salad arrived quickly but swimming in Italian dressing. Fresh so not terrible, but I definitely prefer dryer. Croutons should not be soft from dressing. Note to self, ask for dressing on the side.
Steak arrived. The strip stands at under an inch in thickness - a little surprising - and has a charred finish. There's a mesquite-like flavor. Definitely flame cooked, a little salty though and the mesquite is a little overpowering. It is how I asked it be cooked however - as I like: dark red in the center but not cool - a good medium rare. Serious cudos for that. That's not a little deal, really - after all, is there anything more important at a steak house than proper delivery of cooked-ness? The more expensive the steak house, the more they want you to eat it raw. Worked for my dad - he'd say he liked it "barely moving" - a gross generational humor thing - but not for me. I like it medium rare and that's not cool in the center by my definition. Sorry I digress... the mashed potatoes are tasty and are lumpy as real mashed potatoes should be. Definitely added and second helping larger than the first. There's plenty and delicious. The brussel sprouts are plentiful as well - enough to feed an army but are a little on the oily side - could be the bacon. Wished I like brussel sprouts more. Maybe my wife will back at the hotel. That said they're definitely tasty. Again maybe just a little wet.
In the end the service was very attentive but I would not go as far as to say amazing - not meal defining anyway as an amazing restaurant can be. To be fair though, few consistently are and I can't really criticize Rosebud for that. The service was solid. Their attention to the customer has been very good.
In conclusion I'd say the food is satisfying but nothing you'd write home raving about. But not every meal is, is it? So would I come again? Probably not if I'm in charge though it's a cool space that I could see making my own with a little personal preferences shared with the waiter and chef. Then it might end up the bestie we're always looking for. The people here are cool, I liked them. I have to say though, that there are too many other steak houses I've yet to try... That said, if someone said, "Hey, let's meet at Rosebud for drinks and a steak!" I'd say unequivocally, "Sure, steaks there are cooked to perfection! - and the service is very good too."

Tim F. 5/06/2021
Tim F. Avatar

4 star rating Writing this as it comes. The restaurant was able to take me on a walk up at 6:00. Several groups were here but it's early yet. COVID may have scant benefits but fewer people is one. Nice table at the front. The maitre d asked face in or face out - great question for one person btw - as I'm here solo due to my wife being too site-seeing exhausted to go out, I chose face in. Beautiful room here at Rosebud, plus window looks to the street and the Hilton Hotel service garage door - but the room is lovely. Good choice facing in. Once seated I asked for the wine list. Not good. As a Californian I'm accustomed to good wines and while I don't require a massive selection, I do require some seriously good cabs at minimum for a steak house but it wasn't there so I pivoted into an Italian blend which has proven satisfactory. The bread came in a cute metal holder for two roles - looks and tastes like challah drizzled with olive oil and garlic . Hmmmm... Ordered the house salad, KC dry aged strip, brussel sprouts and baked potato - dessert is to go back to the room and my resting wife. Call me old fashioned but A guy out alone, has to bring something home... Was told the baked potato would take 45 minutes. Never heard of waiting to bake a potato until ordered but let's give them the benefit of the doubt due to COVID and ordered mashed instead. House salad arrived quickly but swimming in Italian dressing. Fresh so not terrible, but I definitely prefer dryer. Croutons should not be soft from dressing. Note to self, ask for dressing on the side. Steak arrived. The strip stands at under an inch in thickness - a little surprising - and has a charred finish. There's a mesquite-like flavor. Definitely flame cooked, a little salty though and the mesquite is a little overpowering. It is how I asked it be cooked however - as I like: dark red in the center but not cool - a good medium rare. Serious cudos for that. That's not a little deal, really - after all, is there anything more important at a steak house than proper delivery of cooked-ness? The more expensive the steak house, the more they want you to eat it raw. Worked for my dad - he'd say he liked it "barely moving" - a gross generational humor thing - but not for me. I like it medium rare and that's not cool in the center by my definition. Sorry I digress... the mashed potatoes are tasty and are lumpy as real mashed potatoes should be. Definitely added and second helping larger than the first. There's plenty and delicious. The brussel sprouts are plentiful as well - enough to feed an army but are a little on the oily side - could be the bacon. Wished I like brussel sprouts more. Maybe my wife will back at the hotel. That said they're definitely tasty. Again maybe just a little wet. In the end the service was very attentive but I would not go as far as to say amazing - not meal defining anyway as an amazing restaurant can be. To be fair though, few consistently are and I can't really criticize Rosebud for that. The service was solid. Their attention to the customer has been very good. In conclusion I'd say the food is satisfying but nothing you'd write home raving about. But not every meal is, is it? So would I come again? Probably not if I'm in charge though it's a cool space that I could see making my own with a little personal preferences shared with the waiter and chef. Then it might end up the bestie we're always looking for. The people here are cool, I liked them. I have to say though, that there are too many other steak houses I've yet to try... That said, if someone said, "Hey, let's meet at Rosebud for drinks and a steak!" I'd say unequivocally, "Sure, steaks there are cooked to perfection! - and the service is very good too."

Tim F. 5/06/2021
Sarah Whitsett Avatar

Visited for our anniversary. We are from Indiana and it was our first time in Chicago. Great people there, extremely friendly. Food was amazing. Would highly recommend.

Sarah Whitsett 4/14/2021
Jason Schultz Avatar

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner. Our server Chris, was such an amazing guide throughout our dining experience. The food was outstanding. We felt so welcome and warm to the atmosphere (especially since it was our first time away from our children and during covid). Thank you so much for creating an evening we so truly needed.

Jason Schultz 4/14/2021
Jonathon S. Avatar

5 star rating Great steak! Of course it is expensive as expected but I guess you should know that going to Rosebud or any steakhouse to be fair. I would say it was worth it for the quality of food and service we were given. I suggest the truffle butter to really add some good flavor to the steak. Tasty mac and cheese, too!

Jonathon S. 4/01/2021
Rania B. Avatar

5 star rating Great tender steak with a little extra salt, like I like it. Excellent service. Nice quiet setting with dark wood and red booths, playing Sinatra music. Mushrooms and fries were delicious too. Would come again! Very close to the Hancock.

Rania B. 3/23/2021
LieDetector007 Avatar

Service was off the hook. Great staff. Make you feel like you own the joint. Food was amazing.... dessert was wonderful.Ribeye steak was a little "nervey". That was my only little issue but I will definitely go back.

LieDetector007 3/14/2021